GOTA Boost - Guardians of the Analog LPB-1

MichaelW

Build Rating
5.00 star(s)
@thewintersoldier was kind enough to send me one of his boost boards (because you can never have enough boosts!!!) and some cool swag that I posted about in the "What's in the Mailbox" thread.

I wasn't planning on building anything today but I had two meeting cancellations and REALLY did not feel like working on my next presentation deck (I'll wait till the last minute as usual for some "inspiration"):)

So this was a quick lunch break build.

Despite the ubiquity of the LPB-1 I have no personal experience with it. (And I have to shamefully admit my breadboard LPB-1, even with @BuddytheReow's most excellent tutorial....doesn't work.....it's just sitting on my desk mocking me......)

Very cool little clean boost with toggle that adds a cap for a bit more fatness. In non-toggled mode it can brighten up darker guitars or pedals.

It sounds really good with the couple of pedals on my desk currently, the Fingers and Golden Falk, both of which can be a bit muffled. Adds a little clarity back in.

I socketed the transistor with the the notion of maybe trying some different transistors for a more aggressive boost. But for now it sounds good with the stock 2N5088.

I used the new Tayda "Sand" texture in Burnt Orange. I was a little disappointed when I took the shrink wrap off to see that the texture is pretty subdued. Not like their Black Sand Texture which is a bit more pronounced. But the more I look at it, the more I like it. I can definitely see the benefit for applying graphics with the less aggressive texture. (Not that I know anything about applying graphics to my builds.....hahah).

Thank you Chris!! Awesome addition to my burgeoning collection of boost pedals!

Workbench inspiration......
IMG_3362.JPG

IMG_3360.JPG

IMG_3366.JPG

IMG_3364.JPG

Totally digging the blue led on the orange...
IMG_3365.JPG