Led orientation

Daddy

Hi
I’m new to this pedal building so as my fourth build I decided to try the Low Tide. Well everything works which came as a surprise however the led did not. I’ve checked on installation and with the long leg being the anode and supposed to go to the square marked hole, nothing. So I stripped the board out, removed the led and reversed it. Behold it now works! Am I misreading this? All documents I have read say long leg, anode, square hole. Am I wrong or was the board incorrectly marked?
Cheers

The round pad is the Anode.

The industry standard is square pad for the cathode of a diode. (LEDs included)

I know, some other folks do it the other way around, somewhere along the line this got reversed in the component libraries that are commonly used for stomp boxes, but if you check the default included patterns in any major PCB design software you'll see that the anode is the round pad.

For future reference, it's actually marked on the PCB itself.

A = Anode
K = Cathode

1716912296164.png

The round pad is the Anode.

The industry standard is square pad for the cathode of a diode. (LEDs included)

I know, some other folks do it the other way around, somewhere along the line this got reversed in the component libraries that are commonly used for stomp boxes, but if you check the default included patterns in any major PCB design software you'll see that the anode is the round pad.

For future reference, it's actually marked on the PCB itself.

A = Anode
K = Cathode

View attachment 75842
Thanks for that Robert. I did wonder about the A and K, quite why it’s not a C can’t figure! Anyway I’m sussed from here in👍🏻

Thanks for that Robert. I did wonder about the A and K, quite why it’s not a C can’t figure! Anyway I’m sussed from here in👍🏻

Another old standard... According to Wikipedia:

Wikipedia said: