Let's mod a DS-2 for RELAY bypass...

Stickman393

WHELP!

I'm somewhat shocked and amazed, but I got this thing to work on the first attempt.

So...what did I do...

I got this DS-2 off eBay in "for parts" condition. Iffy foot switch, the dude said. Makes sense. They go out. I was looking for a DS-1 to mod...but this looked interesting.

As to exactly how I started: well, obviously I had to replace the footswitch. But that got me thinking...huh...it'd be fun to throw a relay bypass in this thing. So I studied the schematic...and thought to myself "ohhh, that FET look good. Stickman smash!" In my normal, cave dwelling internal dialect.

So I removed the buffers that get switched out of the circuit when the pedal is "on", and the entire circuit responsible for controlling the FETs (STICKMAN SMASH!!! DESOLDER FUN!!!). I removed a few DC blocking caps and jumpered where appropriate.

I removed the battery snap (stickman get power from hole in wall, hurk hurk) installed a pedal PCB simple non-latching relay bypass in the battery compartment, and miraculously was able to figure out exactly where I needed to land everything in order to get it to work.

I made a few mods to the clipping stages and tone stack, and recapped the whole pedal. Call me superstitious, I don't like the look of those mylar film caps. And 'dem shifty-lookin monolithic ceramics. Don't even get me started on the electrolytics...which were actually decent Panasonics, but I swapped em cause I always do that with anything that could be over 20 years old...

Plugged her in, held my breath, and EGADS it worked.

As to the sound? Needs additional tweaking. Shift the upper mid peak a little lower, roll off a little bass, add back in some top-end in mode 1. I swapped a green LED in one half of the soft clip stage, and a germanium for one half of the hard clip. The result is...little too loose for my tastes. I'm gonna experiment a bit more.

Behold!

IMG_20211124_143907_copy_1762x2349.jpg