Muroidea (Rat) Volume Drop

byrnej

I have two Rat circuits I'm working on and they both suffer from the same issue. The volume will drop when I move the filter knob clockwise. If I keep the filter between around 7 o clock (minimum) and 11-noon-ish, it works fine but after around noon, the volume with drop significantly as the tone becomes darker. The distortion and volume work great and the sound out of it in the range where the filer works is fantastic.

Build docs with schematic: https://docs.pedalpcb.com/project/Muroidea.pdf

I'm pretty new to circuits but looking for things that would impact the filter I was thinking C9, C8, or the diodes may be an issue. Am I heading the right direction here or am I way off? Any suggestions about what would make it drop that like?

Is the volume doing a sort of note ducking thing? Like it’s bottoming out? Or is it a straight across the board drop?

If it’s bottoming out lower C2 to 2.2uf or lower....I usually put a 1uf there.

I've had a few issues with the rat PCBs from bottoming out if I am playing fast on a lower string--the attack gets off and it can't really track my playing. This occurred when I cranked the volume and distortion. When I ran an OD or boost in front of it, this issue disappeared so what I did was put in a little boost built on a veroboard inside the pedal. So this solved my problem with that, but may try that different value for C2 as well.

Anyways, with or without that boost present the filter always causes a volume drop. Filter pot works from 7 to noon-ish, after that the volume is significantly drops off. This occurs on two rat boards, which I put together at the same time. Maybe a bad batch of some parts? If it's all dependent on the filter, which part do you think could be the culperate?