My Soldering station died tonight

Dali

It sucks.

Bought in 2016, probably on Aliexpress for 60$. Youyue 8586. What is weird is that the Air Gun still function but when I try to start the soldering side, it blinks half a second then nothing. I opened it but can't really find a fusible or nothing of help.

So yes I will replace it because I got 12 pedals in the queue...

I'm open for suggestions... I'm a builder-by-numbers, soldering pedals about 3 hours a week.

Are those too cheap to trust?

Last edited:
I am totally loving this one, although it doesn't come with a power supply. I repurposed a laptop power supply with it and it rocks, from smd to heavier stuff like turret soldering on amp boards. I couldn't believe it at first but my regular soldering station (Hakko knockoff) is now my backup and hasn't been used in yonks.
There's a useful firmware upgrade on Github, I could find the link if you go down this way.

Hey Pat, this is the one I use. Got it from Aliexpress and it works really well, heats rapidly and has a nice standby function. I should calibrate the temp down the line, but I've set it at a point I'm comfortable working with so I never bottered (that and I don't have an infrared thermometer...). As a bonus, it took months to get there, but I wasn't in a hurry and they reimbursed me the better part of it!

I use that same Weller 40 watt that you linked. Works good for me but I don't have any experience with other stations. I'd say it feels solid and good quality. I bought a conical tip to go with it the chisel tip it provides. But now I want that TS100 that thing looks awesome.

It sucks.

Bought in 2016, probably on Aliexpress for 60$. Youyue 8586. What is weird is that the Air Gun still function but when I try to start the soldering side, it blinks half a second then nothing. I opened it but can't really find a fusible or nothing of help.

So yes I will replace it because I got 12 pedals in the queue...