Polymer & Hybrid Electrolytic Capacitors

sammo303

Hi folks. Newbie here, reached the precipice and about to fall into the pedal building world as a hobby...!

Like many, I have been spending time researching and trying to make some sense of things whilst contending with differing opinions, misinformation, etc. Steep learning curve but I feel like I'm beginning to get somewhere now, thanks in no small part to threads on this forum so thanks to all!

One thing I've not seen any significant discussion over is the use of Polymer or Hybrid Electrolytics in place of traditional Aluminium Electrolytics. These newer caps seem to solve a number of issues that people seem to have with Electrolytics, namely:

- Significantly lower ESR
- Longer life span

From what I've seen, the downsides compared to Aluminium Electrolytics are:

- Larger leakage current
- Large capacitance sizes seem harder to find

Where I am struggling is with the next stage; making use of this information! As I understand it, electrolytics seem to be used mostly for power supply filtering and in LFO circuits, is that right?

For power supply filtering, I imagine the lower ESR enhances performance by allowing more ripple to pass to ground, and less resistive heating in the process. I would imagine the leakage current is not a major factor in this application as there should never be enough to meaningfully impact DC power rail voltage. Can anyone confirm or correct me on this?

In terms of LFO, I believe that consistent performance is really important and therefore Electrolytics are arguably a bad choice due to their strong frequency dependence on ESR and relatively high leakage current. I'd imagine with increased leakage current, Polymer caps would be even worse here but maybe the reduced ESR makes them more suitable. Anyone have any thoughts here, is it best to stick to Tantalums instead?