DEMO Rock Mania delay pushed to the max - calling PT2399 experts

This post contains an audio or video demo
Here's a quick demo of Rock Mania's PT2399 delay "overclocked" to about 0.6 seconds. That's about as clean as I could get the repeats at this 2x-out-of-spec delay time. I don't have experience with other PT2399-based delays, so I am wondering if it can get better than this. I kind of doubt it. What do you think?

https://on.soundcloud.com/wFCpr
I’m far from an expert but the hand full of pt2399 delays I have built that sounds about on par for a pt2399

I think “underclocked” is the word.

To get acceptable results, I think you would need to use companding or preemphasis, like with an analog delay.

I think “underclocked” is the word.

To get acceptable results, I think you would need to use companding or preemphasis, like with an analog delay.
Underclocked is the right word indeed.

Regarding the compander idea, I don't really think so. That would help with BBDs, where the problem is the limited dynamic range (high noise floor), so you're squeezing the signal into a narrower DR, going through the BBD, then expanding it back. Like a noise reduction on a tape machine. PT2399 is not noisy when idle, until you pass a signal through it at too low a sample rate. The noise you hear affects the signal only (not the silence) and is due to quantization error/distortion. Unfortunately you can't fix that with a compander.

I rely wish they made a PT2400 or something with 2 or 3 times the amount of built-in RAM. That would fix it.

Last edited:
Underclocked is the right word indeed.