Rosamp SLO 30 Build

jjjimi84

I couldn't wait to start working on this and I really couldn't wait to start sharing it with everyone right over here;

I thought it would be best to start a proper build thread in case anyone was interested in building something like this. A Soldano SLO 100 has been a dream amp of mine since I started playing guitar and going to see Warren Haynes tear it up in Gov't Mule just cemented in my head what kind of sound I want. Unfortunately it is hard to justify a 100 watt tube head but was really intrigued when they came out with the 30 watt version, I was really considering getting one (and might still) but really wanted to check out DIY options. Rosamp.com has been really great to order from and the box came super quick and everything was really well packed. The build documentation is just a lay out and a schematic and is fairly sparse, I wouldn't recommend this for a beginner or first time amp build. Places like Trinityamps, Valvewizard, Allenamps have really incredible documentation that really leads you by the hand on the build.

The chassis, knobs, transformers, pcbs and parts are all top shelf and it is really quite a beautiful thing when it is put together.

Here are some pics from the first day of the build.

This is test fitting all of the components into the chassis
dJZcTvyl.jpg

NELbPVOl.jpg
MGiecARl.jpg

jOLO5Lxl.jpg

Here is the preamp board
XlqS8zTl.jpg
vGjRgKQl.jpg

Here is the power board
V02cKiYl.jpg
vYRZWdPl.jpg

Here are some over exposed shots of the board with the test fit.
McR4Vrjl.jpg
yg10RRLl.jpg

The next session;

This is a look at the preamp tubes and input jack.
Eg9rEgcl.jpg

Here is the effects loop, foot switch jack and impedance and output jacks
F5oMPRHl.jpg

A look at the power section almost all wired up
hEDrj4sl.jpg
r79g4oHl.jpg
GrW8ueml.jpg
YM4bWoEl.jpg

A look at the speaker jacks
2c1LTEPl.jpg

A look at my desk this morning, the preamp board is wired up and ready for the final stages.
Gcuo956l.jpg