SOLVED Softii - first build... no sound 🙃

Petethefuzz

Hi guys. Total n00b here. Just finished my first build. Maybe I took on to much, but I fell in love with the SFT so I wanted a clone. With help online/facebook I have tested that the switch works (multimeter buzz test). LED works. I’m very new
to electronics/circuits and even the multimeter. I have seen this kit in the forum - has anyone had the same issue? Doesn’t work out of the enclosure either, so it doesn’t appear to be pots making a short or something like that. I had to wire one of the transistors cause the socket
Was broken. I bought it as a kid from musikding.de

If you would be so kind to give me instructions on what and how to test, maybe with the multimeter, I’d really appreciate it. Please feel free to address me as a total beginner. If you feel like you are writing to a toddler your probably doing great 😀 B285A3C2-B7FD-41FC-B13B-7C5CC3FB5D32.jpeg 874E7980-35C9-4A59-8AF9-A8AA4267D1B9.jpeg 8A45A905-060C-43B9-983E-0364CD9C9CFB.jpeg 7D9C8013-13A2-4FB8-BF78-26B10A32F2B9.jpeg 7EDB496C-114E-4C1F-8ED2-95948F2E2C78.jpeg

I am love with the artwork.

First thing is to check voltages to make sure that power is getting where it needs to. Put the black lead from your multimeter on a ground point on the board, and set it to a DC voltage setting around 20V. Use the red lead and probe each of the transistor leads. Given that they are in sockets I would try and measure on the actual component lead to make sure there is a good connection with the socket. For consistency we will call the pins from left to right in your bottom photo above as 1 2 3.

Thanks you so much! I’ll get back to you with the readings asap 😀👍... what is a ground point on the board though? Could it be where the pcb says gnd... where the switch is wired?