Troubleshooting a Little Green Scream Machine

Hi, first post here, this is my third pedal PCB. My first two were Blue Breaker and they worked great first try on power up! I was on a roll.. :)

I have been troubleshooting all evening, checking my soldering, and going down the rabbit hole of checking all components (eg. Pots, resistors, etc). I'm really stumped on this one. I did decide to use LED's (red ones), since they are optional (vs. using the IN4148 diodes).

Here is the issue: the volume and tone pots work as expected. The drive pot doesn't seem to have any effect when I turn it. I confirmed using a multimeter that the A500k pot is operating as expected, and double checked all my soldering- no solder bridges, no cold joints, for the most part an appropriate level of solder everywhere.. I have a lot of soldering experience (other hobbies) but I was also going a little faster on this one, but after careful examination I don't think there is anything that looks off.

The only component I am really suspicious of is the 4558 Op Amp IC. I purchased from Amazon and they all came loose in a box. I haven't gone through thorough testing of it yet.

EDIT: Also.. the first picture does show that the tone knob isn't fully soldered in- I have already fixed that, but just used that same picture. The later 3 pictures are up to date.

Appreciate any ideas/thoughts!!

Attachments

• IMG_3248.JPG
    IMG_3248.JPG
    468.2 KB · Views: 24
  • IMG_3249.jpg
    IMG_3249.jpg
    493 KB · Views: 24
  • IMG_3250.jpg
    IMG_3250.jpg
    523 KB · Views: 19
  • IMG_3251.jpg
    IMG_3251.jpg
    489.8 KB · Views: 24
Your soldering is pretty good for the most part, give the board a good scrub with some isopropyl alcohol and a toothbrush. Reflow the red LED pads, I see a cold joint there which would make sense! There’s a few potential cold joints all around, see if you can touch em up. Take your time.