Venus X - NAMM 2023 Sushi Box Sneak Peak

vigilante398

Authorized Vendor
Well this is it, this is what I've been working on for the last two years, and it's finally done. I've spent more money on prototype PCBs for this project than I did on my first car (not an exaggeration). But after all the time and money, I have something really cool, and I'm excited to share it with people.

There's a bit of a story behind it, but long story short it's a bass preamp I designed for a big name industry bassist so he could have "his sound" regardless of where he played and what backline was provided.
  • Two channel tube preamp (clean and "boost")
  • dry passthrough (in case their is an amp to run through)
  • 4-band active EQ
  • IR-based cabsim (but not advertised as IR because it's hard-coded and not user-configurable)
  • D.I. XLR output with Lightning Boy Audio transformer
I'm excited to announce it more formally at NAMM this year, and hopefully demos will come shortly thereafter.

339550378_1454670251739372_2863903847049610055_n.jpg
337998587_1225689765001699_7669908474372340672_n.jpg
339638384_787470799413320_5775871566015031235_n.jpg

Suuuuper cool! Is a guitar version in the works as well! I'm curious how the IR/cabsim piece works. I assume there's some digital components in there that have the IR in memory, and they process the input signal?
I don't plan on doing a guitar version specifically of this preamp since it was really designed from step 1 to be a bass preamp. I will eventually be doing something similar for guitar, but it will likely be a scratch design for the preamp, I'll just use the same parts for the IR section.