Will I need a preamp for this?

LetsPaul

I'm a total newbie to pedal (and amp) building. I'm looking to put together a small headphone-only amp unit for bedroom practice. I have the PedalPCB headphone amp and UniCab boards which I plan to chain together to this end. Will I need to add a preamp, will the Unicab act as one, or does the headphone amp board not need one in general?

If I will need a preamp, are there any of the Pedal PCB preamp boards that are good for relatively uncolored sound (so I can rely on just the Unicab for color)?

Thanks!

Reactions: fig
Thanks for the reply, but that wasn't what I was asking (apologies If my wording was muddled).

I want to know if the PedalPCB headphone amp can use the raw "weak" signal directly from a guitar, or if it needs a separate preamp stage to boost the signal first.

I have a headphone amp from a different manufacturer (made for regular recorded music listening), but found that it can't use a raw guitar signal without preamplification (and also doesn't handle mono input gracefully), so I wanted to double check if the PedaPCB one is designed for direct guitar use.

I already know the UniCab will provide color. That's its purpose in the chain (as I understand it): to add customizable "cab tone" to the amp. I just don't know if it'll also provided preamplification if the amp needs it.

Reactions: fig
The Unicab has a max 12db of gain fully cranked. That may be enough depending on your guitar output (active pickups?,) but it's not ideal from a signal-to-noise perspective.

I haven't built one, so I don't know for sure. (It's on my list.) Try it and let us know!

If you find it's not enough, any butt-simple booster will get you there.

For added simplicity, you can jumper pins 2 - 3 of the volume pot on the aforementioned booster for a simple 1-knob boost.

Thanks! That's a big help.