Making water slide decal art work

MaxDB54

I am wondering how anyone here that uses water slide decals for their pedals sized their art work?

Trial and error or is there a template available to download or share?

Any help appreciated!

Thx!

I am terrible at design software & do mine on a template in Powerpoint that I made through trial & error. Printing out on paper, cutting and lining up is always recommended if you want to get it perfect. I know a lot of the guys use the drill template sheet from the pedal document as a help when designing.

I am wondering how anyone here that uses water slide decals for their pedals sized their art work?

Trial and error or is there a template available to download or share?

Any help appreciated!

Thx!
I am no expert yet but I’ve got a lot better over the year. What I do is use the drill template as one of my layers in photoshop or gimp. I import it from my scanner as the first layer. Double check that the dimensions match the actual size dimensions of the template. Then I build off of that first layer. Finally I turn that layer off or delete it when I go to print.

I'll quote myself here:

I've recently converted to Affinity Photo for my graphics software and it's killer. A bit of a learning curve if you're not used to working with layers but it's ability to pull in individual sheets from a PDF is a cool trick. So if the box layout is, say, page 6 of the build doc: open the PDF in Affinity, specify Page 6, import at 300dpi to keep the edges sharp, and then save it as the Affinity file format. Make sure you print at 100% and you don't have to worry about getting the size right.