Cepheid parts selection/general PCB question

cylnplnt

I’m preparing to build the Cepheid Chorus attempting to use parts as close to the original as possible. I’m mainly using the article on electrosmash.com as reference. One part has me stumped. What I’m finding in examining old pedals is there absence of box caps. The Cepheid calls for a 1uf box cap in C20. From what I think I can determine this was an Electrolytic in the original(C17 in the boss schematic). My questions are:
-If I wanted to use an Electrolytic how do I determine which direction the polarity is in the Cepheid PCB?
-Is there a general way to tell the direction for polarity on a PCB?

I’m an absolute beginner with an interest in recreating classic pedals. I am only just beginning to understand how to read schematics. The extent of my multimeter knowledge is how to test resistors, and test which direction diodes go. I’m still grappling with technical terms.

Attachments

• IMG_3873.png
    IMG_3873.png
    675.9 KB · Views: 7
  • IMG_3880.jpeg
    IMG_3880.jpeg
    303.4 KB · Views: 7
  • IMG_3883.jpeg
    IMG_3883.jpeg
    82.8 KB · Views: 9
  • IMG_3881.jpeg
    IMG_3881.jpeg
    127 KB · Views: 7
Mainly, the best way is using a multimeter to find connectivity. If you find what C20 pad goes to what resisitor, you'll be able to determine which way to install the electrolytic. Sometimes you can see the traces visually, on this example the traces for C20 may be on the other side of the board.

On the Cepheid schematic, C20 is inbetween R40 and R41. If copying the electrolytic example, you can the see the positive+ goes to one side of R40, and the negative- goes to one side of R41. So I would take a multimeter and probe one pad of C20, and see which resistor it goes to. That'll tell you the polarity direction you need to put it in.