My first build. Low tide. Made a mistake. Is this redeemable?

boysenpai

So this is my first build. I heard it was not recommended for beginners, but I've soldered my guitar electronics in the past and also, I just really wish to have Shallow Water for 5+ years and making my own was the only way I could afford it.

It went well until I started to solder chips. It came as a kit but there were no instructions as to how to solder particular components so I googled a lot with each new tier of components. Found a little bag with two chips, found their placing on the pcb, soldered them in. Cut off the residual pin tips. Then I opened next back and I noticed there were these slots and I couldn't pair them with anything. Then I realised these were slots for the chips that I already soldered straight onto the pcb and trimmed their pins.

Will the chips work when soldered straight into the pcb? Or, will the chips slide into the slot and work even with the tips of their pins trimmed? Or should I look for replacement?

Attachments

• pins.jpeg
    pins.jpeg
    330.8 KB · Views: 95
  • pins2.jpeg
    pins2.jpeg
    421.3 KB · Views: 96
  • pins3.jpeg
    pins3.jpeg
    374.2 KB · Views: 100
Those are the sockets for your chips. They are not essential for function of the pedal. They help protect the chips from heat when you solder and also make removal easier. However, It looks like you may have installed the chip circled in red backwards. The little circle indention should be facing the other way I think.

Those are the sockets for your chips. They are not essential for function of the pedal. They help protect the chips from heat when you solder and also make removal easier. However, It looks like you may have installed the chip circled in red backwards. The little circle indention should be facing the other way I think.
Yep, looking at the picture on https://www.pedalpcb.com/product/pcb406/, looks like you're right, it's the wrong way around.