Questionsss about Fuzz Face input cap.

hendrywong

hey guys, this is my 1st post here, i just built my first fuzz face (AC128) yesterday, everything goes well, and i love the result.
i did quite a bit research and know something about the circuit. of course, i tweak something about it for my taste, almost everything that i have to try things out for what 'it' does to the circuit, including bias, input/output cap, the 33k thing, the .01uF thing, the pot thing, 20uF thing. even batteries, i just got more than 10 different brands and zink carbon thing, alk thing, blah blah blah.

i love it, it's so fun! i love deep dive into the thing i'm interested in.

i'm no expert in electronic, not even student, i just love to learn pedals and want to know how does it work. everything i learn is just 'google it'.
but the questions below is something i can't find exactly answer (maybe i just not learning enough), so i found here.

and here is my questions,
1, i try 4 types cap for the input cap, Ceramic, Film, Electrolytic, Tantalum and different values. with same value, Tantalum sounds dull and flat, the others just almost the same, to me.
this input cap is 'dc blocking', am i right? also filtering some frequencies, low end, right? ( i also feel boost the hign end, or 'clarity', and it would sound like less gain).
is it 'safe' or not wrong not to use Electrolytic? what if no 'dc blocking'? anything dangerous?
or what the sound of the fuzz would be without dc blocking? only Electrolytic can do the 'blocking' thing?

2, Electrolytic 'should' oriented, right? of course, and polarized.
but i read somewhere (i just read too much on different forum, i can't remember who and where said that) says in Fuzz Face circuit is no need to polarized, but why i just saw lots of 'boutique' pedal's circuit board mark the '+', and the schematic also mark '+'.