Son of Ben Bias Trimmer Range

terribleamps

Hi all,
Feeling like a bit of a noob with the issues I'm experiencing with a pair of SOB builds on the bench - I've never built with J201's before, and was worried about the "fake JFET" thing.... I've got a multi-component tester and verified that the 10x thru-hole J201's I bought (from pedalpartsaustralia) were indeed legit, and was able to sort two trios that were fairly closely matched.

What I'm finding is that I've had to ratchet the (single-turn Bourns) 50k trimmers hard-to-right to get the voltage at drain - and therefore output level - up... both builds seem to be anaemic on the maximum voltage 'permitted' - on one build, I get Q1: ~4.1v max and Q2/Q3: ~3.2v. The other build is worse - can't get Q1 up past about 2.5v.

One of the two is essentially sounding "allright" - but I'm not really hitting what I think I ought to, and it seems really odd that I've gotta dial the trims all the way up. I've removed the 10uF caps on both boards to no effect. The trimpots are definitely 50k all the way through, and I'm seeing ~9.24v off the diode.

Thoughts? JFET's not quite up to scratch? Different value trimpot worth considering? I soldered the actives straight in, foolishly - have a desoldering pump and can carefully remove/add sockets/try the shebang again with the few other spares I've got and see if I get better luck....

So the contents of this thread made a significant difference - one of the two boards is now close-enough-for-jazz sonically, but Q2/Q3 still won't spike above about 3.6v with the trimpots maxed out. I can live with that - just strange....