transistor oc139 equivalent ?

AurEL.

Hi guys, I'm new here and I'm a big noob.

I have some issues finding some transistor, specially the oc139 and I need it for my project of pre amp...

Can someone know if there is an equivalent ? or can I use an other transistor ?

Thx you so much :)

It seems that the OC139 is an NPN Germanium transistor. Almost any NPN Ge transistor could be used. Generally you want low leakage and reasonable HFE. Google "OC139 datasheet" to find out typical HFE and find an NPN Ge transistor in that range. If you buy a few and put a socket on the board for the transistor you can try a few to see/hear which one sounds best. If you're looking for inexpensive NPN Ge transistors then Russian MP38s can give excellent results.

The OC139 is an NPN germanium BJT. Some equivalents are: OC140, CV7112, NTE103A, 2SK3835, 2N229, ASY29, AC187, and/or AC176.

Pretty sure there are several others as well. Depending on the specific build, a germanium BJT may not be necessary.

TransistorSubstitutionChart.png

Last edited:
The OC139 is an NPN germanium BJT. Some equivalents are: OC140, CV7112, NTE103A, 2SK3835, 2N229, ASY29, AC187, and/or AC176.

Pretty sure there are several others as well. Depending on the specific build, a germanium BJT may not be necessary.

Hi, thx so much :)

They are hard to find :rolleyes:

I have those in stock right know :

2N5088 (to92) - 2N2222A - 2N2907A - 2N3904 - 2N3906 - 2N5551 - 2N5401 - S8050 - S8550 - A1015 C1815 - A42 - A92 - A733 - C945 - S9014 - BC327B - BC337B - BC547B - BC557B​

Do you think any of this can do the job ?
Thx you so much for your time, it's literaly my first pedal and I dont understand a lot of this for now.

To best target the BJT for the job, it's kinda important to have a clue of what you're building. Have you looked at & compared the different datasheets for those BJTs?

yeah I do, but I still have some issues :cry:

for exemple :

- the original : OC139 = 20V - 0.25A - 143 mW