Abyss

servusjon

Built the Abyss, but for some reason the yellow LED doesn't flash but lights constantly fairly weak. Also I can hear no modulation. Any ideas?

Attachments

• IMG_8390.jpeg
    IMG_8390.jpeg
    305 KB · Views: 127
Hello folks,

I'm a noob in electronics but I've built a few kits already and I'm having a similar issue to the one described above (I didn't want to open another thread as this one is fairly recent).

My problem is the following:

* The indicator LED doesn't light up when toggling the effect;
* Initially I thought only the boost stage was working, after reading this very thread I've tested flashing a torch on the photo-resistors and the effect kicked in;
I don't have a spare LED to replace the internal one right now, but considering the the external LED is also not working, I'm wondering if the problem might be somewhere else.

In the attached image, you'll notice that I've removed the internal LED already (and the 25k pot is not soldered because of that)

WhatsApp Image 2019-08-26 at 16.02.11.jpeg

Thanks

Any chance you wired both LEDs backwards? It's an easy mistake to make. I know, because I did it on my last vero build. Killed the LED too. It's always a good idea to order spare parts, you will need them. I suggest you check these things:
- Make sure the transistors are tight in their sockets.
- Carefully inspect all solder joints under magnification.
- Verify all components are the correct value.

Any chance you wired both LEDs backwards? It's an easy mistake to make. I know, because I did it on my last vero build. Killed the LED too. It's always a good idea to order spare parts, you will need them. I suggest you check these things:
- Make sure the transistors are tight in their sockets.
- Carefully inspect all solder joints under magnification.
- Verify all components are the correct value.