Breadboard Quality - Stick With Brand Name?

Ginsly

What's the consensus on breadboard quality? I'm just starting out, fwiw.

I can get a kit like this for cheap, and it seems to have everything I'd need for now: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0C1VDKPW2/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?smid=A3FX7C4A9P37IQ

Then there's something like this, which is a brand name (BusBoard): https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0040Z4QN8/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_4?smid=A2RKGEIGG4B1JT

With the second one I'd need to get jumpers and little jumper wires, which is not a huge deal. In that case I can shop around for (potentially) better jumpers. Worth it to spend twice as much? Or just get that full kit?

PS - do any of you use anti-static wristbands? I kind of assume not, but all of the warnings on my Mouser packages has me wondering!

I don’t do a lot of breadboarding, but the one I have is a tiny RadioShack one from a decade (to more) ago. I think you would be plenty ok with the full kit one. Def nice that it comes with the jumpers. Treat it gently and you will get more than your $14 out of it and then upgrade (if needed) when it dies. As far as anti static…… I have handled a lot of CMOS chips since starting this hobby bare handed without issue. I like Fredrik’s (from Parasit studio pcbs) take “CMOS chips are very sensitive to static charges and can be easily damaged. It's a good idea to wear an anti-static wristband or at least avoid wearing a wool jumper and petting your cat/dog while building...”.

I can't say I've ever bought a name brand breadboard, but the generic ones are hit-or-miss. Tayda usually has a pretty good deal on breadboarding stuff.

I live in the swamp, so ESD isn't much of a concern for me, especially with cheap semis. Definitely recommended if you're handling expensive computer hardware. Not so much if you're handling bargain bin op-amps.