DEMO Clandestine Preamp 2.0 (Chase Tone Secret Preamp) - Demo added

This post contains an audio or video demo

MichaelW

Build Rating
5.00 star(s)
Well it seems like I've been following in the footsteps of @Joben Magooch last few builds. He posts a build post and it's something I'm just getting started on, or in this case, he posted a very unique build of the Clandestine and it inspired me to dig mine out.

I first built my original Clandestine about 18 months ago. It was probably within my first 20-30 pedals or so.
I absolutely loved it and it sat in my signal chain for a long time as a go to pre-dirt pedal boost until the Modus Operandi came along and kicked it off.

Digging it back out after being inspired by @Joben Magooch 's post and playing with it a bit, I remembered why I liked it so much.
I've always been a fan of the EP style pre-amps. Before getting into pedal building I had an Xotic EP Boost pedal that was part of my signal chain.

When I built the Clandestine, it blew the Xotic away, it sounded so much better and more nuanced. Richer harmonics, etc,

So anyway, like some other of my favorite pedals that I've been rebuilding lately, I decided to rebuild this one to my current build standards.

My original one was one of my early attempts at stuffing a 125b project into a 1590B enclosure and I recall it was a difficult build because of the shape and length of the board. Also my wiring was ugly and the soldering was sloppy, etc etc. (It still sounded great though!)

So I ordered another board from @Robert with the last coupon sale and was doing some research on the Chase Tone website (which is where I found the Chase Tone Wah pot I mentioned here.) That's where I learned something I didn't know before. Apparently Kyle Chase designed this pedal to actually sit at the end of the pedal chain at unity gain. Not really a boost per se, as it doesn't have a ton of volume. I think the gain max's out around +3db.