Custom Range Potentiometers

I’m new to this and wondering if there is a such thing as a custom-range potentiometer. For example, if I bought a B100k and wanted to configure it so that at the bottom of the range it started at 12k resistance and at the top of the range it landed on 88k resistance.

My uneducated guess would be that I’d need to add a resistor or trim pot on both sides of it to define its range. For example, a trim pot on both sides hidden from the user but adjustable at the circuit board could let me configure it on the fly to try different ranges. Am I close or way off?

Adding trimpots or select-in-test resistors at each end is a good way to control the range, and to some extent the taper, of a pot.

Do you want the pot to act as a voltage divider (3 terminals) or as a variable resistor (2 terminals)?

What matters most with a 3-terminal pot is the ratio of resistances, rather than the absolute resistance.

With a 2-terminal pot, the only things that matter are min resistance, max resistance & taper.

Adding trimpots or select-in-test resistors at each end is a good way to control the range, and to some extent the taper, of a pot.

Do you want the pot to act as a voltage divider (3 terminals) or as a variable resistor (2 terminals)?

What matters most with a 3-terminal pot is the ratio of resistances, rather than the absolute resistance.

With a 2-terminal pot, the only things that matter are min resistance, max resistance & taper.
Voltage divider vs variable resistor? I’m not sure. This is a good question as it will prompt some research on my end. I’m not even sure if I understand the difference yet. I was under the assumption that a typical level, tone, or gain knob on a pedal circuit are 3-pin pots acting as variable resistors. Maybe that is not the case. Or maybe it just depends. (I’ve seen the Walrus Eons fuzz pedal has a voltage knob at the top-center position. Maybe this is an example of a pot being used as a voltage divider. I don’t know.)