Distortion & Delay Combined

vT3

Hello, everyone!

I am brand new in the field (and in here) so please have patience with me for a bit.
I am currently developing a combo pedal - distortion and delay. For now I only have the topology outline in mind and honestly, I thought it would be easier. Was expecting the difficult thing to be finding information about what I needed, ended up drowning in all the resources instead.

Anyway, I need your help with the off-board wiring. I want an LED showing when the pedal is on, power supply switching between a center-negative wall-adapter jack and a 9V battery, and three modes of operation (distortion only, distortion + delay, delay only). TS and TRS mono will be used, but everything else is unknown. Should I use a DPDT or a 3PDT? Should it be latching or momentary? Why would a loving God cause so much pain?

All help is appreciated.
Also, is this worthy of a new discussion? Couldn't find anything similar.

Last edited:
For three modes of operation you're going to either need two footswitches or a more complex switching system involving digital logic. (CMOS, microcontroller, etc)

• Love
Reactions: vT3
For three modes of operation you're going to either need two footswitches or a more complex switching system involving digital logic. (CMOS, microcontroller, etc)
Two footswitches it is then! It has to be strictly analog. The only "digital" thing will be the MN3007 for the delay.
Any thoughts on that will also be helpful.

mn3007 is a bucket brigade--I would consider this analog, not digital.

I think you'd want two status leds, one for delay and one for distortion. And two switches to control them independently.
Then you're basically gonna be laid out like any combo pedal (king of tone, pro-10, sproing deluxe, etc.) There's lots of examples of them here that you can refer to for reference.

• Love
Reactions: vT3
mn3007 is a bucket brigade--I would consider this analog, not digital.