How to load effects into EEPROM ?

eh là bas ma

Hello,

I am building DeadAstronaut's F-24 Multi-fx project. It's almost done, and i suspect the two EEPROM sent with the kit are empty. But the project includes a 6 pin header to access the EEPROMs.

If i am correct there are 8 internal effects in the FV-1, and i can add twice as much with these two EEPROM.

I didn't anticipate this situation, i thought these EEPROM would be already loaded, just like PPCB FV-1 projects at musikding. I don't intend to design my own patches, i just want a multi-fx with lots of effects, to ease my burden when i am traveling.

What's the easiest and cheapest way to load some effects into the EEPROM ?

Can i build some sort of diy cable to connect the EEPROM ICs to my computer ?

If not, instructions mention pickit2 programmer or arduino to connect to the ICs. Wich one is the easiest for a total beginner ?

I could also buy some preloaded EEPROM from PPCB, but i am in France, it would probably be around 30 euros shipping costs, so approximately 45 euros for two chips full of patches. Not sure if that's the clever move ?

I also wonder if the patches data from PPCB FV-1 projects are available somewhere in open source, like Spatialist's patches, etc. ?

On musikding they mention SpinCad. I looked it up and got to github.com.

https://github.com/HolyCityAudio/SpinCAD-Designer/tree/master/patches

I guess i have to go into the "patches" folder, download 8 patches for each EEPROM, then somehow export them to the EEPROM, and that's it ?

In my experience, EEPROM effects are modulations, reverbs and such. Just to be sure, are there some kind of gain effect possible with FV-1 technology ? Some digital FV-1 apocalyptic fuzz ? I guess not or PPCB would already have released a project...

Every observations and suggestions are welcome !

Last edited: