Let's build a 1U rack tube preamp (with multiple channels)

pbrommer

I posted this in the workbench thread, and a few people wanted me to walkthrough my "super magic magic secrets to how I made this preamp and how I'm going to make more. Disclaimer: HIGH VOLTAGES HURT AND CAN KILL YOU. BE SAFE, YA GOOBERS. A few caveats:

1. I had access to 1U rack enclosures from old telecom equipment for distance education and conference rooms.
2. The channel PCBs were from Merlin Blencowe back when he had universal tube amplifier PCBs.
3. I've built a few guitar amps before, so I've had some experience "knowing what I'm doing"
4. Lots of access to old 12V 2A plus power supplies from old laptops, etc. at work.

Honestly, this project has been in the works for about 5 years, but has been on the backburner as I've gone through building guitars, back to pedals, and going forward with preamps. After small SMPS pcbs have become more common, it made this more attainable. I had already failed with a toroid transformer and two smaller PCB mount transfomers. So, failure aside, winter break and snow days have allowed me to tackle this project. Plates are lower than usual in most Marshall since there are 5 tubes on the SMPS power supply. But it sounds good, so I'm super happy.

The 18watt channel is based on a Lite iiB revision of the 18watt (from mHuss and others at 18watt) using parallel triodes (on the right side with the eyelet board and two 1uF Wima caps). Not much gain but a nice light clean sound.
Middle channel is a Plexi with a M/N taper Bourns potentiometer (basically a mixer potentiometer) for the normal and bright channels. There's no clean at all on this: it's straight ahead early 70s rock. Thick Thin Lizzy 'Jailbreak'