Leveling Up...

Joben Magooch

Years ago, back when I was in college...I was a pretty average guitarist. Not terrible, not great. On a whim I auditioned for a local band's lead guitar position and by some miracle ended up getting picked for the spot. Spent the next two-ish years touring the country and regularly playing shows...and I can pretty confidently say that that experience was probably responsible for the biggest step forward or "level up" in my playing, more than anything else. I am still not particularly spectacular, but that period really pushed me to be a lot better than I was prior.

Now as it stands I also consider myself to be a pretty average pedal-builder. I've done dozens of PPCB (or other PCB) builds, quite a few veros, a bunch of "utility" boxes (switchers, buffers, splitters, that stuff), and some stuff like minor pedal and amp repairs and/or mods. But by and large this stuff has been relatively "paint-by-numbers" and it starts getting dicey when I try to do something a bit more "independent," if that makes sense. And that's an area that lately I've found myself wanting to grow and learn more in.

So with that all being said: I'm curious as to what some of your biggest "level ups" or "next steps" have been for you personally.

Some areas that immediately came to mind:
  • Learning to better read schematics / a better understanding of what a given component does in a particular circuit (and by extension what changing it would do)
  • Becoming more familiar with common topologies and other "building blocks" that you'll frequently encounter
  • Various hacks/tricks to improve overall productivity - what's something you've learned/you do that you feel sets you apart from an "average" builder?
  • Practically speaking: improving your finished product, both aesthetically and functionally. I struggle a lot with finishing builds and most are just pre-finished enclosures with no labels or quick ones printed on a labelmaker. Waterslide, UV printing, etc?