SOLVED Valhalla , no led, just noise

deadbrent

Hi. Valhalla distortion build. Main issue, no led, no output (other than noise). Tried both in and out of enclosure. No bypass just get noise, when 3pdt is turned on the freq of noise changes but no guitar sound. I've tried to troubleshoot with multimeter, tested all resistors and verified components are all in the correct locations. Reflowed solder on all components and checked for bridges (didn't see any). I get continuity and 8.4-8.5V+ power at various points on board/components. Using an on-stage pedal power supply 9v center negative. I tested the led, not burnt I can get it to illuminate via continuity test when placing probes between the a and k pads and by placing probes on the left top 3dpt switch pad (green wire) and pad underneath that (red wire). Any ideas or help would be appreciated. Beginner here so good odds that I have done something silly and not embarrassed to ask, hence this post.. Any help is appreciated. Cheers. 1000016579.jpg 1000016580.jpg 1000016581.jpg

Do you have a multimeter? This is a buffered pedal. I would suggest starting at the dc jack and working through the power part of the schematic. Are you comfortable with that?

Thanks, not 100% comfortable but will give it a go/google some more info, I did check voltage at various points, including output (8.2v at output lug). Good opportunity to learn to read schematics better. I am seeing around 7.4 -8.2 volts at various points. I'll try a more systematic approach and follow the schamatic.

Thanks, not 100% comfortable but will give it a go/google some more info, I did check voltage at various points, including output (8.2v at output lug). Good opportunity to learn to read schematics better. I am seeing around 7.4 -8.2 volts at various points. I'll try a more systematic approach and follow the schamatic.