Phase II (Mu-Tron Phasor II)

MichaelW

Build Rating
5.00 star(s)
I have very little experience with phase shifters. I owned an MXR Phase 90 in high school and that was more decades ago than I care to count, hahah.

I had no idea what to expect with the Phase II. I mainly built it because @fig built it and I thought his looked real purty.
Also @Betty Wont says it's the coolest Phasor on the planet (or something like that) so I decided to try it.

The project got delayed a couple of times due to not having all the parts I needed. I originally was planning to use GL5516's then at the last minute decided to order the KE-10720's from Tayda so that was the first delay. Then I planned to build it with 1/4 watt resistors standing up until I went to go pull the parts for the build and looked a little closer at the board and decided "naahhhhh". So I ordered 1/8 watt resistors....sigh....another delay.

Finally had a couple hours today to concentrate on the build and got it all together. Fired it up and it sounded like it was farting.
I DM'd @fig and asked "Does yours fart?". He said "Most certainly NOT, mine is a real lady......."

Anyway, turns out I pulled a dumbass move. Won't be my last I'm sure...heh, I had installed the TC1044 in upside down. Flipped it around and getting real nice phasey sounds. Still messing around with the trimmers, I'm not exactly sure what they do. One seems to control the brightness of the LED but I'm not sure what exactly that does to the sound. I can't tell what the other trimmer does. Frustrating that you adjust until it sounds good, them put the cover on and the the sound changes. I think I got it pretty close to a clean phasing without the weird artifacts from having the LED trim too high (after many tries with the back cover one and off)