Byzantium Flanger (Boss BF-2)

MichaelW

Build Rating
5.00 star(s)
Just buttoned up this build after supper this evening.

I've never owned a flanger. I can probably count on one hand how many times I've actually played through one.
And on NO hands I've played through an all analog one!

(I think the last time I used a flanger was in some Digitech multi-fx pedal board thingy I had at one time)

So needless to say I have very little experience with them. I've been wanting to build the Byzantium for quite some time and it's been
in and out of my cart at least a dozen times. It looked complex and the parts size requirements gave me a headache just thinking about it.

Well, I couldn't have been more wrong. It was actually a fairly straightforward build. Like building two modest effort boards simultaneously.
And since I recently built the Tourbus I already was mostly there with the low profile components needed. Again, big shoutout to @PedalPCB for his elegant layouts. Lots of room to work and nothing feels crammed.

The only low profile components I couldn't find were the 47u e caps. I had ordered some 47u Tantalums and was planning to use those but turns out they weren't any more "low profile" than the electrolytics I already had. So in order to make it all work I had to use a bit of "English" with the 2 47u caps. Everything else, I was either able to get in low pro size or I used tantalums. The only other substitution I made was for the single PNP. BOM called for a BC560 which I couldn't find so I used a 2N5087 (which has reverse pin outs to the BC560 btw). I socketed the PNP in case it didn't work but it all seems to work just fine.