SOLVED Curds & Whey - no led/sound, bypass works

jcpst

Hello. This is my first build. I’m going to start researching how to troubleshoot this, but maybe there’s something obvious that I did wrong that the pictures reveal.

As I mention in the title, sound passes through fine when bypassed. When I click it on, no LED, no sound.

The power socket was attached, but I removed it so I could take a picture of the back side of the PCB. It was wired correctly afaik.

Any feedback provided is greatly appreciated!

IMG_0122.jpeg
IMG_0120.jpeg
IMG_0119.jpeg

What are you using for power?

I'd also recommend trimming the leads on the backside down to the solder and checking carefully for any unintentional bridges.

1704478759161.png

What's going on here? are those the leads from the LED? It's probably just the angle of the photo but trim them and make sure they aren't touching anything.

I would suspect the usual. i.e. accidentally connecting the power backwards, plugging the IN cord to the OUT jack because you're working on it upside down, or just a bad solder joint somewhere.

Just from the very act of trimming the leads down farther, I found a few caps and diodes and actually broke loose during that. So I have some bad solder joints to fix.

Thanks for all the other pointers folks. I’ll be back!

Just from the very act of trimming the leads down farther, I found a few caps and diodes and actually broke loose during that. So I have some bad solder joints to fix.

Thanks for all the other pointers folks. I’ll be back!

A couple things that it took me years to internalize that totally make the difference.

Make sure you leave the soldering iron on the leads long enough for the solder to "flow". just a second or two after the solder melts, but someone new to soldering is far more likely to apply the iron for too short of a time than too long.