Help me pick out some tubes

BuddytheReow

Breadboard Baker
I think it may be time to tinker with some tube circuits. The problem is I know virtually nothing about how they work or what's considered a "good" one to start out with. I know some of you have built with them and I want to see what all the fuss is about. Can anyone recommend some good reading material on how they work, the difference compared to a transistor, and possibly recommend a few to pick up for tube noob like me?

I’d start with a good HV primer. Working with a SMPS can go around 350V. I’m currently working on a 12AX7 (dual triode) preamp. It’s a common tube with a lot of circuits drawn around it. But I’m no expert.

You’ve probably read “A closer look at the Fetzer valve”, but it may be worth a 2nd glance. (y)

I’d start with a good HV primer. Working with a SMPS can go around 350V. I’m currently working on a 12AX7 (dual triode) preamp. It’s a common tube with a lot of circuits drawn around it. But I’m no expert.

You’ve probably read “A closer look at the Fetzer valve”, but it may be worth a 2nd glance. (y)
Forgot about that fetzer article. Sorry for the noob question, but what do those acronyms mean?

I still need to read up a bit on the subject, but would I need a whole separate set of components for the high voltage? Resistors, caps, etc.

I may just have to read those again. So much great knowledge in there.

Thanks for pulling those links so I didn't have to :p happy to help answer any questions you have if they aren't covered already. I don't think I'm old enough to be considered a tube expert, but I've built a good handful of tube circuits including a fair number of original designs and have a reasonable understanding of their general goings on.

Check out The Tube Store, I got a great deal on some JAN 12AX7 there.