Storage Questions

Audandash

So I have been building pedals off and on for going on 6 years. Over that amount of time I have gathered tons of parts. I use bins from harbor freight to store most of my components and it has always worked well for me. There is of course one exception, resistors. Since there are so many values it makes it hard to store them in bins. I get maybe the common ones (4.7k, 10k etc..) but there are a lot of others that also get used. Lets not even mention that I use 1/8 and 1/4 watt depending on the builds, lol. My question is how do you guys organize yours? I dont want to have countless storage bins simply for resistors so I am curious to see your solutions. I attached a pic of some of my bins to to show what I have. I currently use 6 of them.

Attachments

• IMG_0639.jpeg
    IMG_0639.jpeg
    493.7 KB · Views: 23
I use the envelopes they came in, or put them in similar ones, and file them in a long narrow box. Adding an odd value to a decade just goes with the flow and it's all good. Same with ceramic and film capacitors.

I have a bunch of those little drawer-bins too. I’ve got all my 1/4w resistors in those, but I have all my 1/8w stuff in one of these hardware drawers. Like Betty I’ve got them standing up and sorted by value. It’s surprisingly fast to access them like that.

Attachments

• B999317C-AA77-42A3-BDDD-A2603C7C069D.jpeg
    B999317C-AA77-42A3-BDDD-A2603C7C069D.jpeg
    561.9 KB · Views: 12
  • 448FE076-90C4-4FB0-8EED-D729E48793CC.jpeg
    448FE076-90C4-4FB0-8EED-D729E48793CC.jpeg
    547.1 KB · Views: 13