XB-MB grounding issue

Mike McLane

I just finished an XB-MB. I plugged in power and got the "red light" before I fastened the jacks and tightened the other nuts, but when I plugged it in to try it out it was dead. . . no LED and the positive jack terminals are NOT contacting the enclosure. I get an LED when the jacks are ungrounded (removed from the enclosure), but loose it when they contact the enclosure. Also, if the jacks are ungrounded (active LED) and the guitar cords are plugged in the thing goes dead as well. Any suggestions?

1638909950128.jpeg

Last edited:
You can trace through without a schematic, but now the schematic is here it definitely helps a lot
As you go through too bear in mind that in a pedal with gain, you are expecting some volume increases through the circuit. I am by no means an expert, but would expect the primary gain around IC 1.1, and a bit around IC 2.1, but the gain control should in a working system be able to wind it back a lot judging by the reports from other users

Last edited:
WoooHooo for Mr. PedalPCB! Thx for the schematic. . . . .

I went through pins 1,2,3,5,6,7 on both IC's. I assigned guesstimated volume values (0-5) to the outputs with VOLUME and GAIN full CW:
1.1 - 5 2.1 - 5(+)
1.2 - 3 2.2 - .5 (barely audible)
1.3 - 3 2.3 - .5
1.5 - 3 2.5 - .5
1.6 - 3 2.6 - .5
1.7 - 3 2.7 - 5(+)

Pins 2.2-2.6 were barley audible. I tried alternate IC's with no change in results. Unless these numbers indicate something amiss I think the thing has to be working as intended, but it is hugely loud and GAIN goes very aggressive early in the sweep. If so, might there be a way to soften the GAIN?