Drive>Delay>Reverb recommendations

Grubb

Hi folks,

I'm in between projects as I wait for parts to arrive, so I'm thinking through another project on my list.

I'm a teacher at a high school. The students at my school who play guitar are all talented but are also limited by lack of quality effects. They have generic school amps (Fender & Peavey solid state) with generic inbuilt reverb and not much usable drive. I want to build an effect that has a good drive, a delay, and a nice reverb in a single box. Ideally 3/4 buttons. Here are my questions:

1) What drive would you use that could cover a lot of territory from OD to Dist?

2) Delay recommendations? Rhythmic U2 sounds and classic solo delays are the goals. Tap tempo would be good.

3) Reverb? Room to Hall scope preferred.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions

Last edited:
Reactions: fig
Drive: something that gets close to Dr Scientist's "The Elements", I don't know of any trace/schematic of that one though. The Elements started its life based on the classic dual op-amp architecture w/ feedback clipping such as TS-808 (there's a can-o-worms), Timmy (PPCB Tommy III), etc. OD-DIST ... It's such a huge category, I'm sure others here will have more concise suggestions.
VFE Dragon w/ Boneyard mods (The FireDrake) may be forthcoming? One can hope.
Ember (TC Spark) gets a lot of love as a boost-OD, but I don't know if it'll do distortion.
Such a huge scope for OD...

Delay'Verb:
I'll recommend the PPCB Spirit Box — it's a combo of delay and reverb, and it's ripe for delay modifications such as longer delay times, modulation and tap-tempo into Belton's "spring"-reverb brick. Bonus: no having to wait for FV-1 chips...

For a straight-forward good sounding delay that can be modded for tap tempo: Seabed Delay.

Versatile 'verb: Spatialist Reverb (FV-1).