DEMO Two Low Tide Minis

This post contains an audio or video demo

paulcalypse

Build Rating
5.00 star(s)
The Build
Wanting to get back to building after a couple-year break, I texted a friend and asked if he wanted a Low Tide Mini (LTM). (y) So I build two.

This is not a beginner-friendly build. Building two at once helped me a lot, forcing me to double-check (literally) every part of the build. Even between the time I boxed the first and then the second LTM, I felt I improved as a builder. Shout out to all the great posts on this forum that helped me along the way. I tried to link all my sources because I am a HS English teacher :coffee:

A few things to look out for:
~Max component height of 7mm. The shorter, the better. My only "tall" components were the 1n caps.
~Get the right headers. The Tayda ones will make everything fit snuggly but will not leave much room for adjustment. Snug might be better so the boards stay married. On my first of the two builds, I used headers found on Mouser (links: 3 position, 4 position, pins). Pricy. These provided more room for adjustment, but with the 7mm cap height, it didn't really make a difference.
~Get extra 100uF caps because the BOM is slightly different than the full-sized Low Tide. Low Tide Mini docs still not available as of this post.

Biasing / Trim Pots :dmm:
I have seen a few posts around referencing the MBP Pork Barrel document. Here's a helpful post with biasing instructions.

Apparently the original circuit chips are biased to 1.15v (GATE/LM258P?) and 2.3v (BBD/V3207D).

Measuring Pin 3 on the V3207D is nigh impossible when the board is assembled, but I traced the PCB to this third pin. Measure 2.3v there, and you are good for the BBD trimpot. I did it by ear first, and the values matched.

IMG_8588.jpg