Enclosure Drilling

masonlewisdiesel

First time posting here.
When it comes to any project, getting holes drilled and graphics are a struggle for me. Im still an apprentice when it comes to the pedal game. Does anyone have some advice? I think that the best(easiest) way to tackle it would be CAD, then chuck it up in the CNC... at least for the holes, as i cannot keep things lined up to save my life! as far as wording or any type of graphics -does anyone here use a mill? what cad software are you using? I should mention that when it comes to cad i'm pretty new... Been screwing around with Freecad, Carvco, easel, and just started a trial of fuision 360, definitly not an overnight kinda thing to learn. I've been using flatcam to to drill files in the past, but would like to try a V bit and a simple "boost" "fuzz" "volume" kinda thing.
Thought that would be a good "first post"
Thanks
-Lewis

I’ve used a CNC to mill the holes. Works awesome. You do need to be able to position the enclosure the same way every time if you are doing multiple. I made a jig to hold the enclosure and set a repeatable origin.

The key for me was to create the jig and enclosure cutouts together, then copy the cut part of the program to another file. That would leave me two files with the same origin, so then I could cut out the jig, place the enclosure in the holding jig, then run the cut file.

I used easel to do this cause it’s easy to quickly model these simple jobs and cutout routines. I use whatever free software suits my needs for the particular project I’m working on. I just milled out a power and bias supply board for an amplifier and used kicad to model the circuit, flatcam to create the gcode and candle to run the files. I do use fusion 360 a little.

First time posting here.