Help me decide which compressor to build…

Locrian99

I have very little experience with compressors. I think I need to build one to play around with. The only o e I e spent much time with is the keeley 4 knob with the switch for humbucker/single coil (by much time I played around with one I borrow from a friend for a couple hours.). I’m looking at the thumb sucker, the warden clone sorry forget the name, and the MBP kompromat.

I’ve got a strat and a les paul for guitars that I’ll use with it. Any other suggestions I’m welcome to as well.

Thanks.

I highly recommend the thumb sucker. It’s a great all-around compressor and an easy build. Plus you don’t have to futz around with LDRs. I’ve tried three different LDRs in my delegate, and I’m still not positive if it isn’t working right or I just don’t know how to dial it in. YMMV, but it’s hard to go wrong with the thumb sucker.

I haven’t built the mad bean board specifically, but I had a Barber Tone Press for a while and found it too noisy for my taste.

This can be used with many instruments including drum machine, keyboards, etc.

I built the bass version, and it's good on guitars too. I just have to set the Color Knob at 12' or anywhere CW above 12'. The bass version has a wider range of possibility (if i recall correctly, it's been years) making it more suited than other compressors for many instruments.

The interest here is the exciter (controls odd and even harmonics) and the color control (pan between bass and treble boost). Perfect to shape your sound to get more pecision, etc.

If you only play guitar, just go with the guitar version or try both and make your choice.

Although the sustain control allows to increase the attack response, it's not as powerful as other compressors that can go in extreme settings. Effective but moderate. The good side of it is that it's very silent compared to others.

Last edited: