Moonn Gold Gerät

Mentaltossflycoon

Build Rating
5.00 star(s)
I finally boxed up this freebie I received from Nils at Moonn, thanks to him for this generosity. Based on the JPTR FX Silver Machine, it's an interesting little octave fuzz that goes from green ringerish sounds to intense unpredictable octave fuzz that is not like any of the others I've played. As a bassist I question the marketing describing it as useful on bass. I'd say it's among the most bass sucking fuzzes that I have. I'm not mad at it, it's super fun and I intend to keep it but it'll mostly be useful to me with my guitar and bari. If/when I octave fuzz my bass, I'm still reaching for the fuzzy fox or octorock. Easy build and good times as always.

Screenshot_20240101_203133_Gallery.jpg Screenshot_20240101_203155_Gallery.jpg

What's this all about? I don't know anything about jptr but I like hot goss
Most over the top was the marketing for the Jive, which implied it's an Akai tape preamp, while actually it is a SHO with switchable clipping diodes, copied value for value including the pulldown resistor at the output and lack of power filtering (at least previously, not sure what's going on in the current ones, but the diode configurations have also changed a couple times).

I don't know about ALL their pedals, but the ones I have seen traces of or "traced" myself, they are generally very derivative. E.g. Katastrophe being a BE-OD with what appears to be just some swapped pot values and a green ringer blend in front, or the Warlow being basically a direct clone of the op amp muff, except for the lack of clipping diodes and the switchable tone filters that it originally didn't have. What gets me more is their past (and to a degree present) QC, how inefficient their building schedule and techniques are and how nontransparent they are with ordering status. Tried ordering two pedals from them over the years and gave up after multiple months of waiting with zero communication.