Nagging Noob Questions

Mr Phil

Relative Noob here. I've completed a few projects with success and trying to improve as I go. Below are few nagging questions that I can't seem to get a clear answers from searching this forum or general web search. Feel free to link to another thread, maybe I'm using the wrong keywords. Thanks in advance.

Why is it necessary to clean all solder flux from PCB's? Here is what I've gathered so far:
  • Looks better. I agree with this, but for most projects I don't care.
  • Helps check for solder bridges. I agree with this, but I'm confident I can check for bridges with limited cleaning, magnification, and a bright light.
  • Long term corrosion. I've been using SRA Rosin Paste Flux #135. This product claims it does not need to be cleaned and "the rosin also leaves a protective coating over the soldered area that can prevent corrosion." This stuff is likely more messy than a flux pen, but I've had good results so far.

Why use Tantalum capacitors? I've never used them, but I see they are quite common on various build reports. I've generally used ceramics for pF, film for nF, and electrolytic for uF and have a decent stockpile of each.
  • Why are tantalum caps better? How much difference do they really make?
  • Seems like the general recommendation is to use them in the signal chain. Are there any advantages to use them in other locations?

I am not going to lie, I read this title as Sagging Boob questions.

I always clean my PCBs just to see if there are any signs of a possible cold solder joint, and some flux residue does cause damage over time. I use no clean solder but I still clean my with IPA.

People use tantalum caps in place of electrolytic caps because electrolytic caps are prone to leakage.

You sound like someone who needs to be told to clean their room. (sorry if thats too rude but your making excuses to clean up so you do)