Noob question regarding soldering LED to PCB

Hi all - I am just starting out in building my own pedals, and had a question regarding which side of the PCB you would solder the LED legs, or if it even matters (as long as you have the polarity correct)?

With the components side facing up while mounted, would I run the LED legs through the backside and solder on the components side, or wrap the LED legs around the components side and solder on the backside, as I’ve done with all the components?

EDIT: The LED I am asking about would be the LED mounted to the enclosure, indicating whether the pedal is engaged or off.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Hi all - I am just starting out in building my own pedals, and had a question regarding which side of the PCB you would solder the LED legs, or if it even matters (as long as you have the polarity correct)?

With the components side facing up while mounted, would I run the LED legs through the backside and solder on the components side, or wrap the LED legs around the components side and solder on the backside, as I’ve done with all the components?

Thanks!
As long as you observe polarity and the led leads aren’t touching each other or other parts, it doesn’t really matter.

Electrically, it doesn’t matter. I think most of us solder it on the back side (with the pots and switches). If I’m using the standard LED position (as determined by the board) more often than not I solder it in with the board in place, pushing the LED in from the hole in the enclosure.

Electrically, it doesn’t matter. I think most of us solder it on the back side (with the pots and switches). If I’m using the standard LED position (as determined by the board) more often than not I solder it in with the board in place, pushing the LED in from the hole in the enclosure.
Same

I stopped fighting with that. Now I solder a wire to each leg and then cover each leg with heat shrink tubing. Can snake the LED to wherever I want.