Paragon, 1 Channel no sound..... PLEASE HELP!

aienco

Hello, I went through all the other Paragon threads. I wasn't sure whether to post under those threads or start a new one. I chose the later. Anyway, I have been building electronic kits for 40 odd years and I can mostly resolve the issues with basic troubleshooting even though I am far from an expert..

My Paragon build has a strange issue. At first it was all working fine. Then all of the sudden, Channel one decided it would not work anymore )NO SOUND. The probe just yeilds a buzz no matter what component I touch. I have some weird voltages on the ic's. This is where I am stuck. I am not certain where to look to find the cause of these strange voltages.

D7 voltage is 9.14V

IC1 with ic in.. Without Chip in..
1. 8.27 4.3
2. 8.2 0
3. 8.3 0
4. 16.5 8.7
5. 0 0
6. 0 0
7. 0 4.0
8. 0 0

IC2 with Chip... Without Chip
1. 8.25 4.3
2. 8.27 4.2
3. 8.31 4.3
4. 16.5 8.7
5. 0 8.7
6. 7.31 4.0
7. 8.06 0

IC3 with Chip in..... Without Chip
1. 9.13 8.9
2. 5.5 8.5
3. 0 0
4. 3.0 3.9 keeps going down with probe left on pin 4
5. 2.97 0
6. 4.3 0
7. 5.6 0
8. 9.14 8.9

I hope someone can shed some light on this. I have another board and I am about to give up on this one and start with the new one...

Thanks.. Tony.

Sounds like a grounding problem pin 4 on IC1 and 2 should be 0v

You've also omitted the reading for IC2 pin 8

Are your pin numbers correct Ic pin numbers .jpg

Post some nice clear images so that component value and orientation and wiring can be seen and traced

Pin 4 as you can see in the schematic power section should be 0v ground

You haven't accidentally put the new ICs in upside down?

When you say it was working was it in or out of its enclosure

What voltage do you get at D15 cathode

Will do, however I have gone over all the values of components 5 times and re-soldered every connection, all the basic stuff. I will get onto the above.