Problem burning EEPROM with hex file from SpinIDE

jeffwhitfield

Ok, so I got my FV-1 Dev pedal all built and hooked up. Got the CH341A drivers on my Win10 laptop installed and the pedal is recognized properly. The AsProgrammer app recognizes the EEPROM and can read it. However, when I take a hex file produced with SpinIDE and try to burn it, it throws back an error telling me the EEPROM size is too small or the like. Err...ok. The EEPROM I got came with the PCB so...do I need a different EEPROM? Or am I doing it wrong?

Total newbie to this so, yeah, definitely wet behind the ears with FV-1 stuff. :p

NM...figured it out. Helps if you convert the hex into a bin file. :p

That said, are there any easier programs than the command-line one and EsProgrammer? Kinda feel like there might be a GUI that can handle it all. :p

There is a GUI program for Windows called "CH341 Programmer" but it's flagged as malware by quite a few antivirus programs.

You can usually find a download link on eBay listings for CH341 based USB programmers, if you dare.

I've used it, it works, but Windows Defender insisted on deleting it from my PC and I never bothered to replace it.

Last edited by a moderator:
Ok, so I got my FV-1 Dev pedal all built and hooked up. Got the CH341A drivers on my Win10 laptop installed and the pedal is recognized properly. The AsProgrammer app recognizes the EEPROM and can read it. However, when I take a hex file produced with SpinIDE and try to burn it, it throws back an error telling me the EEPROM size is too small or the like. Err...ok. The EEPROM I got came with the PCB so...do I need a different EEPROM? Or am I doing it wrong?

Total newbie to this so, yeah, definitely wet behind the ears with FV-1 stuff. :p

If you didn't get it from Windows device manager automatically, where were you able to install the ch341a drivers from? Still having trouble

@finebyfine

There is a link for a driver library on that page, and some other info.