Two Sticks of Derm...no audio, no nothing.

cgreg714

Hello everyone,
I recently got into pedal building and decided to try this PCB as it looked dead simple. Ordered the parts from Tayda, followed the build docs, etc, and when everything was said and done...I get nothing out of it. The LED lights up when the footswitch is engaged, and that about all. I have it mounted temporarily in a trash enclosure with the input, output and 2.1 DC just twisted together for testing purposes, and have rechecked the connections there which all seem to be good enough for testing.

This is the top of the populated board:

This is the underside of the populated board:

(I know, my soldering is shit on a shingle. I'm still learning.)

I built an audio probe yesterday, which was a fun experiment, but poking around didn't yield anything that was an "Ah-HA!" moment. I could get some sound to come out, but the pot didn't seem to affect it, and after a while I relized that I was just poking around like I knew what I was doing, but I clearly don't. Is there the realistic possibility of multiple faulty compnents, or is it more likely I'm just a dummy? Any help would be appreciated.

This is the third build I've attempted, and the channel switch I built first is the only successful thing I've made. Starting to think this was a bad quarantine hobby to pick up.

Regards,
C

Get some isopropyl alcohol, old toothbrush, and a piece of cloth. Use a pick or a small flathead screwdriver to get those hard flux. Drop some alcohol and brush. Wipe them off while still a little wet or if you have Goo Gone, drop some into the cloth to clean the excess flux. Make sure that your solder bleed a little to the other side of the board.

take another high-res photo. If it is not the wiring to your switch and jacks, there might be some cold solders somewhere. 4AEE0471-E61D-4D69-A88F-06B8BB3B3177.jpeg

Last edited:
Do you have sound in bypass?

Can you post a pic of your jacks / switch wiring?