First Build, No sound

Crash102

This is my first build and things started smoothly, but went south as i began soldering potentiometers and outboard wiring. This is the corduroy fuzz. Currently My led works, and i can get a clean signal from my guitar to my amp. However, when I turn it on, and the led comes on, the sound immediately cuts out. Additionally, i noticed, I melted some plastic on a capacitor as a soldered my potentiometers in. Not sure if I need to just take those off, but thought I would check here before I started disassembling. I've got the build docs open, a trouble shooting guide, and am about to learn how to use my multimeter to go though and check every connection one my one. Let me know if you see I'm missing anything obvious.

Thanks

Attachments

• corderoy fuzz 1.jpg
    corderoy fuzz 1.jpg
    197.3 KB · Views: 37
  • corderoy fuzz 2.jpg
    corderoy fuzz 2.jpg
    274 KB · Views: 37
  • corderoy fuzz 4.jpg
    corderoy fuzz 4.jpg
    92.4 KB · Views: 35
  • corderoy fuzz 5.jpg
    corderoy fuzz 5.jpg
    101.1 KB · Views: 30
That cap is toast and is a good bet that it’s not going to function properly. Not sure if that explains the lack of sound though. Can you take some better photos? Particularly around the power wiring at the top the board. It looks like some suspect solder jobs there but it’s hard to tell.

Guess I have a different account name set up on my phone. Thanks for the reply. Think I’m just going to take the switch, potentiometers, and out board wiring out. Then to replace the capacitor and that one trim pot. Give the board a good scrub and go from there.

Reactions: fig
That’s a lot of desoldering. I would be pretty careful as you might damage the board unless you really know what you’re doing. I always dread desoldering. Use some flux and copper braid solder wick. You can also bend the pots up carefully and use a finer brush to try and clean up the board.