This Week on the Breadboard: Phase 90

Chuck D. Bones

Circuit Wizard
I've been meaning to breadboard the Phase 90 for a long time. Anyone who has played thru one of these knows about the ethereal, liquid, tone.
I recall tracing one of these when I was an engineering student back in 1976. I had read about using JFETs as variable resistors, but this was the first time I had seen someone actually do it.
I built the breadboard in accordance with the PPCB XC Phase schematic with the following exceptions:
  1. I connected a Throb LED to IC3-7.
  2. Q5 is a 2N5087, just like in the Phase 90 I traced.
  3. C8 is 10uF tantalum. I was out of 15uF caps. MXR uses a tantalum cap and for good reason. A leaky LFO cap could cause the LFO stall.
  4. C10 is 22uF aluminum. This cap filters Vref and it's value and material are not critical.
  5. The bias trim is a 100K trimpot with a 100K resistor at each end. It is much less touchy this way.
  6. I omitted the STAGES switch.
  7. I used an ON/OFF/ON switch for the SCRIPT switch to get two levels of feedback (or no feedback).
  8. I omitted D1 because it doesn't do anything.