Low Volume, Low Gain G2

ac30irons

Hey all, I know bits around this have already been asked but I’m struggling for a definitive answer.

I have just built a G2 kit from a popular and very helpful uk supplier. There was a bit of mucking about with the diodes and a couple of resistors around forward voltage but it’s built. The kit was supplied with Russian D9Ks.

On power up volume has to be a least 2/3s up to do anything and the gain all up or there is little to no sound. Through a clean amp it sounds ok but there is no where near the gain there should be. I would describe it as a bit crunchy.

I have heard of something called leakage current. I’m not very technical at all and don’t really get it all.

Are D9Ks generally leaky ? Is there an Ge alternative I should just be able to drop in ?

Bloody headache this diode thing.

The diode thing is not that tough really. With a bit of reading and trail & error experimenting (aka: "Don't be afraid to "socket and see". Experiment."), the clipping element mystery (headache) can cleared up.

Here are a few good articles on clipping elements . . . .

1) Saturation Controls
2) More Saturation Controls
3) Simple Easy Mods, Tips & Techniques
4) Diode Clipping Circuits

Clipping elements can often reduce the volume of a signal, depending on what sort of clipping method is used (soft or hard clipping), but that reduction should NOT impeded the performance of the volume control. Even leaky Ge diodes should not affect a volume control.

Understanding what a clipping element does is explained in the articles posted above. Whether it's a diode, LED, PN/NP junction of a BJT/FET or some other active PN/NP junction device, the Fvd (Forward Voltage Drop) and the curve-trace of any of those PN/NP junctions is the key to having a clue what clipping elements (and their different configurations) will do in a circuit.