Halp! I Need Some Basic Parts Advice From All You Pros...

Ginsly

Hi All! I'm just starting out, with a couple non-PPCB builds under my belt. I've learned a LOT here already, and am prepping for a few PPCB projects.

I have to ask, since I can't for the life of me see a clear answer - what do most people use for middle-value nF caps? Looks like TDK is good for small pF value ceramics, and Nichicon & Panasonic are safe bets for uF electrolytic caps (please correct me if those brands DON'T matter). Looks like film caps of some variety are what to use for the middle values, but I'm not sure what type and brand makes sense. The voltage thing is confusing, too - is there one voltage rating (above 9v of course) that I should stick to for ALL caps? Seems like that may not even be possible... Don't wanna wind up with D-Battery sized caps! Tolerance % is also making my head hurt - Mouser's site has a LOT of options. I feel like I'm taking a test...

I learned a lot from Aion's Part Sourcing guide, but I can't imagine that using the more expensive WIMA and Kemet box caps will make any difference... I'm mostly building fuzz pedals, and I'm more concerned with buying parts that are within spec & keeping the noise floor as low as possible than "mojo". I see plenty of green and red "chiclet" film caps in builds, but I don't know what brand people like - IF those are acceptable to use. I'd love some input! I'd rather pay 8 cents a part than 50 if it makes no difference... These seem to be the ones I see a lot when it comes to box film: https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/KEMET/R82EC1100AA50J?qs=Jv4FAWB%2B0HZxSuv4E1NFGQ==

Same thing with resistors, actually - some say they're pretty much all the same, some say to use Koa Speer, Yageo, etc... Honestly, I already have an assortment from Amzn from weeks ago that seem fine other than the wimpy legs...